Dunipace Parish Church (Denovan) WAR MEMORIAL

(SMR1751)



In commemoration of the fifty-five men of the parish of Dunipace who fell in the war, the Celtic Cross erected near the main gateway to Dunipace Parish Church was unveiled and dedicated in July 1921. When the congregation first considered the erection of a memorial, it was intended only for members of the church who made the supreme sacrifice, but later it was decided to include the men of the parish irrespective of creed or denomination.

Designed by Mr. P. McGregor Chalmers, LL.D., Glasgow, and executed by Messrs Wm. Roberts and Son, sculptors, Falkirk, the cross is of Creetown stone, and the cairn is of whinstone from Northfield Quarry. Set in the cairn is a bronze plague, the work of the Carron

Company, containing the names of the men and their regiments, arranged alphabetically. Sitting amidst the sylvan surroundings of the ancient church, the whole formed an impressive tribute to the glorious dead. It was moved to Dunipace UF Church c1990.

The service in the church was conducted by Rev. John Fairley, assisted by Rev. C.I. Jeans, at the conclusion of which the unveiling ceremony was performed by the Duke of Montrose by lifting the Bible which held in position the large Union Jack that covered the names. The silence that followed the falling of the flag was broken by the playing of the "Lament" by Pipe Major Esplin, and the sounding of the "Last Post" by MR. W. Mcalls. The inscription on the bronze plate of the memorial is as follows: "To the glory of God and in loving memory of the men who gave their lives in the Great War" and below are the words: "Their name liveth for evermore".

The following are the names and regiments of the men whose names appear on the memorial:-

A. and S.H. - Johnathon Baird, William Baird, George Brock, David Crawford, John Cunningham, James Easton, William Gillespie, William Keddie, James McArthur, Alexander McEwan, John McGlade, Archibald McKenzie, John Park, Leonard Planner, James Sharp, Daniel Smith, James Thomson, John Tunstall, Henry Turnbull.

Cameron Highlanders - William Dewar, James Forfar, Robert Thursby.

Dorsets - Alexander Smith, Daniel Tennant.

Gordon Highlanders - James Cunningham, William Gillespie, David Paterson.

Highland Light Infantry - James Blair, Harry Harris, William Reid, Thomas Tough.

Irish Guards - Patrick McGrorty.

Northumberland Fusiliers - Duncan Busby, James Comrie.

Royal Engineers - Robert Gillespie.

Royal Garrison Artillery - William Ashwwod.

Royal Highlanders - Thomas Allan, James Fergus, Peter Hannay, Maxwell Reid.

Royal Irish Rifles - Patrick McAteer.

Royal Navy - William Quinn.

Royal Naval Division - Arthur Reid.

Royal Scots - Thomas Hogg, David Johnston, Henry Madden, Richard McKay, Robert Penman.

Royal Scots Fusiliers - Samuel Kerr.

Royal W. Kents - James Kelly, Peter McDonald, Michael McVicar.

Seaforth Highlanders - Charles Burns, John Johnstone, William Martin."