Tattie Kirk and Grahams Road Church

Tattie Kirk

(SMR 565 & 1434)

NS 8890 7974

NS 8886 8051


1747 Falkirk General Associate Congregation 1820
Falkirk Anti-Burgher Church
1820 Second Secession Church of Falkirk 1847
1847 South United Presbyterian Church 1879
1879 Grahams Road United Presbyterian Church 1900
1900 Grahams Road United Free Church 1929
1929 Grahams Road Church of Scotland 1975

1747:   The oldest seceding church in Falkirk,   the   Erskine   Associate Congregation, was split over the taking of the Burgess’ Oath.   In common with other places this “Breach” resulted in the formation of an Anti-Burgher or General Associate congregation.   Initially these joined with the congregations of the Craigmailer Church until 1756 when they formed their own separate church.

1758: First minister ordained.

1771:  A church erected on a feu belonging to the minister on the east side of Callendar Riggs.

1781:  The  minister  and  the  majority  of  the  congregation  severed  their connection with the Anti-Burgher church, forming a group known as the Lifters.

1782: The remaining minority of the congregation, the Non-Lifters, erected a place of worship at the north-east corner of St. Crispin’s Place.

1806: The Tattie Kirk erected just off the Cow Wynd.  The origin of the name is questionable.   One version states that it is because the church was erected in a potato field, another that the congregation sold potatoes to raise the necessary money, and a third that the church looked tattie.   The last can be easily dismissed.   Its hexagonal plan soon earned the church another rural nickname _ the “threshing mill”.   It measures 46ft across internally, and the masonry is of rubble with dressed quoins and margins.  The slated roof rises to an urn finial.   There are two ranges of windows of which the upper lights a gallery.  On the north side of the building entrance doorways give access both to the ground floor and to the gallery, the latter being approached by an external stone stair.  On the south-east side of the church a doorway, which is now blocked, may originally have given access to the pulpit.  In the original arrangement the pulpit probably stood against the south wall, while a gallery, supported on moulded wooden columns, ran round the rest of the building.  The church is said to have had a seating capacity of 580.  The interior is now much altered and after some years as a tool store and workshop for Sime’s the Tool Merchants it is now a boutique with an office above.   The cost of erection is put at £850.

1813: The Callendar Riggs congregation dispersed.

1820:  Burgher and Anti-Burgher churches amalgamated as the United Secession Church.

1847:  The Secession and Relief churches join to form the United Presbyterian Church.

1865: Session house adjacent to the church extended at a cost of £50.

1879: Last service held in the Tattie Kirk.   Congregation removed to new building in Graham's Road ChurchGrahams Road.   The architect for this building was Alexander Watt of Renfield Street, Glasgow, and the masons were J & A Reid, Falkirk.  In the centre of the front elevation there was a projecting door, at the sides of which were columns with carved capitals and bases.   Above this doorway was  a large  three-light  ornamental  arched window,  with  quatrefoil  and  circular openings at the top,  and finely carved stone panels in the lower portion.   On each side of this window was a single-light arched window.   The upper or south side of the front wall was ornamented by a spire, which was square at the base and octagonal above the eaves of the church.   It rose to a height of 110ft.  The spire had eight square panels of quatrefoil design, and also carved projecting grotesques at the angles.   The side elevation, which faced Galloway Street, had five two-light arch-headed windows, and a side door leading to the area of the church.   The back wall had two double-light arched pulpit windows, and a circular light trefoil opening containing stained glass.   A gallery across the west end gave a total accommodation of 600.   The pulpit was placed on a raised platform at the east end, opposite the gallery.   It had an ornamental curved railing in front and an arched back.   At the back of the church were situated the session-house and vestry.

The church hall was built later the same year, space being left for it to front Grahams Road, to accommodate 200.  The whole cost estimated at £3896.

1972, Sep:  Linked with the Methodist (James St), Trinity Congregational (Meeks Rd), and Grahamston Parish Church (Bute St) to form Grahamston United Church.

1975: Union completed.

Grahams Rd church sold, used temporarily as a carpet store, but floors soon ripped out.

1989: Demolished October


1800: Built adjacent to the church.

1870: Bay window added.

1900s: New manse acquired in Wellside Place.


1879: Borthwick Wilson presented an electro-plated communion set – 4 cups, 2 flagons,  2  salvers  from his brother in India,  and a  baptismal  stand  with electro-plated  basin  from  his brother in Canada (supplied by  Mr  Callendar, jeweller, High St).


1880: Made by James C Watson and Co, Glasgow, founders, to the note C.  It is 35ins in diameter and weighs 1002 lb.   The inscription reads “THE GIFT OF SIR PETER COATS/ OF AUCHENDRANE.  A.D.  1880./ JOHN C WILSON AND CO., FOUNDERS,/ GLASGOW./ DUNCAN OGILVIE, D.D., MINISTER”.


See separate entry for Grahams Road Church War Memorial


See separate entry for Grahams Road Church Windows


1806: 580 including the gallery.

1879: 600, including a gallery across the west end.


A small burial ground was established to the north in 1827.  It was closed in 1871.


Feb 1758

Hunter, Josiah

Dec 1783

Stuart, John 1797

Mar 1799

Brownlie, James 1821

Jan 1824

Steel, William Jun 1857

Apr 1857

Muir, James 1865

Sep 1866

Rutherford, Peter Nov 1871

Jun 1872

Ogilvie, Duncan Mar 1887

Feb 1888

Taylor, Thomas 1911

May 1911

Beveridge, Thomas Lorimer 1915

Jan 1916

Lamont, James Jan 1924

Jul 1924

Grant, William Feb 1930

Sep 1930

Collingwood, John Crawford Feb 1946

Oct 1946

Stewart, William Rhind May 1956

Feb 1957

Scott, John Leonard Aug 1966

May 1967

McIlvean, Alexander Wilson Mar 1971

Jun 1973

McDonald, William Gordon

G.B. Bailey (2019)