Carron Church

Carron Church(SMR 132)

NS 8835 8275

1878 Carron United Presbyterian Church 1900
1900 Carron United Free Church 1929
1929 Carron Church of Scotland 1963
1963 Stenhouse and Carron Church of Scotland


1878: April meeting of UP Church considered the propriety of missionary work at Carron.   Meetings began in June in a schoolroom at Carron Public School, and John Yellowlees appointed as missionary the following month.  Request from the people in this area to form a separate congregation from the Erskine Church in Falkirk.

1880: Memorial stone laid 2nd October.

1881:  New church opened on 10th June at a cost of £2,088 but free of debt.  Church  in  the Early English Gothic style a window at either  end,  two  small windows  at  each side of the main entrance, and five large windows down each side of the church.  The front face was stepped.  Above the main doorway was a spire-belfry 70ft tall.  The side walls were buttressed.  The whole made of Dunmore freestone.  Internally it measured 56ft 6ins by 40ft 6ins.  There was a vestry and ladies room at the end.  The hall for 250 people, together with the boundary wall and landscaping added £520 to the cost, and was opened in 1883.    Architect, James Boucher, Glasgow, and the builders Messrs Taylor & McFadzen.

1963:  Nov.  17th Congregation united with that of Stenhouse to become”Parish Church of Stenhouse and Carron“.


Up until 1904 the minister was given £20 per annum in lieu of a manse.


Collection plate gifted by Mrs Harley.

Baptismal font gifted by James Aitken.

Communion service gifted by Rev Yellowlees and his wife.


See separate entry for War Memorial.


1881:  Cast by John C. Wilson, Glasgow, given by the minister’s brothers along with a clock.


1881: 354 on the floor and 98 in the end gallery.


Apr 1879

Yellowlees, John Nov 1909

Nov 1909

Anderson, Andrew Ferguson Sep 1917

Dec 1917

Macphail, John Wood Jun 1921

Oct 1921

Steele, David Frame 1934

Jun 1936

Macrae, Kenneth Norman 1944

Oct 1944

MacFarlane, Hugh Alexander Reid Jan 1949

Jan 1949

Gray, Ian Alister Apr 1953

Jan 1954

Walker, Alexander MacKenzie Dec 1957

Apr 1957

Mowat, Alexander McIvor Aug 1961

G.B. Bailey (2019)