Dunipace Free Church


Dunipace Free ChurchSMR 1605NS 8202 8326
NS 8074 8331


1900Dunipace United Free Church 1929
1929Denny Dunipace Church of Scotland1964
1964Dunipace North Church of Scotland
Denny Dunipace Church

1843:  Five elders followed Rev Bonar and left Larbert and Dunipace Parish Church.   A minister was ordained for the Dunipace congregation and a church erected in the Tentfield pattern in Church Lane; these were relatively cheap buildings with a life expectancy of forty plus years.

1888: Present building erected at the junction of Stirling Street and Barnego Road near the gates to Herbertshire Castle.   Site purchased from John Edgar for £220.   Church designed by W. Simpson had to be modified slightly for the Road Board.   The Gothic frontage stands at an angle to the roadway and contains the main entrance porch with a large English Gothic window above.   The gable was surmounted by a cross.   To the right of the porch was a tower and spire 84 ft high.   In the back gable above the pulpit was a large circular window.   A gallery across the front of the church faced the pulpit.   The vestry at the back had a fire-proof chamber below it for the heating apparatus.  The masons, James Soutar and Co of Stirling, used Polmaise stone.   Estimated cost £1500.  Foundation stone laid April 1889.   Old church used as a hall.   Opened June 1890.

1899: Halls and church offices added.

1929: At the union with Church of Scotland part of the congregation remained as the Wee Frees and held meetings in a hall in West Boreland Road (later Y.M.C.A.).

1946: The church hall in Church lane was destroyed by fire, including the piano, organ and wireless.  It was a wooden structure with a corrugated steel roof, known as the “tin hall”, and had been used for Sunday evening services.

1964: Linked with Dunipace Old in March.

1988: Dec.  Dunipace Old Church building closed.


1937: Garage added.


1843: 450 on pitch pine seats.


Sep 1843 Robertson, Thomas1885
Feb 1886 McNicol, Duncan CMay 1895
Oct 1895 Miller, William DouglasMar 1905
Jun 1905 Davidson, JohnOct 1936
Mar 1937 Fenton, PeterNov 1942
Apr 1943 Lough, John CampbellAug 1952
Mar 1954 Smart, Harald BruceSep 1970
Aug 1971 Munro, Henry1988
1989 Gallacher, Jean W

G.B. Bailey (2019)