Polmont Free Church

Brightons Church(SMR 1298)

NS 9284 7783


1843            Polmont Free             Church                         1900

1900    Polmont South United Free Church   1929

1929    Polmont South Church of Scotland Brightons Church of Scotland


1843: Free Church congregation assembled at Blairlodge School, with Rev Robert Cunningham the headmaster there as moderator.

1847: Land at Coney Park purchased in 1846.  Church building designed by Brown & Carrick, architects, Glasgow.  New building completed.  Stone donated by Mr Lawrie, owner of the quarry at Lawrie Park.  Masonwork by William Thorburn of Polmont.  Building insured for £800.  21 July first service.

The church is restrained Gothic with lancet windows built to a T-plan with a single storey vestry to the rear.  Ashlar to front elevation which has a 3-bay advanced gable, pinnacled buttresses and flanking bays. Tudor arched doorway with hood-moulded triple lancet window above. The gable is surmounted by an angle buttressed stone spired  bellcote with louvred openings.

1870: Spire repaired.

1900: Union to become the United Free Church of Polmont.

1907: Gas lighting.

1914: Mains water.

1929: Union to become Polmont South Church.

1935: Re-opened in September after extensive repairs.

1936: Clubroom built by Boys Brigade.

1950: Mission hall at Rumford demolished.

1958: Feb. 16th linked with Shieldhill.

1961: Link with Shieldhill terminated.

1968: Old halls and stable demolished.  New hall opened.

1971: Roof reconstructed to an unusual design.

1974: Second hall opened, cost £9,000.

2005: Roof replaced.


1849:  Manse built in church grounds.  Brown of Uphall, architect, Henry Farmer & William Taylor, contractors.

1956:   Old manse uninhabitable, 11 Main St purchased for £2,610.   Old manse demolished the following year.

c1890:  Stable block added.

1967: Manse sold and a new one built in the church grounds.


1861: 3 communion chairs of oak donated.

1935: Communion table donated by Mrs A Thomson of Quarry House.  Font donated by Miss C Trench.


1857: Bell donated by John Miller of Millfield.  Made by John C. Wilson and Co.


See separate entry for stained glass.


1843 Cunningham, Robert 1846
1846 Boyd, James May 1867
Jan 1868 Simpson, John 1873
      Dec 1873 Anderson, James 1907
1907 Bogie, David Kinnear 1923
1924 MacLellan, John Jun 1933
Nov 1933 Gibbons, Harry Valentine Oct 1949
Jan 1950 Hood, James William May 1961
May 1962 Stewart, Angus Taylor 1967
Nov 1967 Heriot, Charles Rattray Mar 1996
1996 Scott, Kirkland Present

G.B. Bailey (2019)